SFMC 2018 Year End Awards Banquet

The SFMC Banquet was held last night at Manny’s Simsbury Pizza.  We had nearly 70 members and guests to help celebrate the 2018 major winners and another great golf season at Simsbury Farms.  We had a great buffet dinner served by Manny and his wonderful staff.

The evening started with a farewell and thank you to the outgoing SFMC Board members:

Gerry Wetjen, John Kuzia, Greg Werk and Andy Waggoner.

And an introduction to our 2019 Board & Officers:

Bob Primmer (Pres), Peter Adamowicz (VP), Steve Hess (Treas), Mike Gillis (Sect) and

Directors: George Alexander, Pat Egan, Don Lockyer, Ron Patterson, Web Whedon and Reggie Zurinskas

Mike Wallace and Brian Johnson gave us an update on the #5 Green, and it sounds like we will be using it in late spring.  It is coming along great and will be the first green with drainage!  Mike asked if we would make sure to keep clear of the green while the sod is taking root.  There has been too much cart and foot traffic on the new sod.  With all the water we have had, it risks damaging the new green.  So, let’s steer clear until spring when we can all enjoy it up close.

SFMC recognized and gave a thank you gift card to Mile and Brian as well as the friendly and supportive pro shop staff of Karen Bali, Tim Lynch and Marc Fischer for all their help in making our golf season so pleasant.

New Member drawing was held for those that referred new members to SFMC and Ron Kennedy was the happy winner of $170.  And the Hole-In-One drawing was held and Owen Wilson was the happy winner of $485.

After dinner George Alexander, John Kuzia and Marc Fischer presented our awards:

Match Play Championship
Winners Finalist
Flight A Gino Calderone Marty Cunningham
Flight B Pat Egan Greg Werk
Flight C Tim Lynch Tom Vincent
  Member/Member 36 holes Gross Net
Chris Martinez Bob Primmer
N. Martinez Don Lockyer
Flights Championships
Flight A Dave Dell
Flight B Marty Cunningham
Flight C Andy Waggoner
Flight D Dan Sullivan
Flight E Dave Langdon
Flight F Paul Diggens
Gross Winners Net Winners
Senior Champion Lou Perrotta Chuck Ford
Finalist Mike Pendergast John Potvin
Ben Nascimbeni Club Championship
Gross Winners Net Winners
Overall Club Champion Chris Martinez Dave Gaffey
Finalist Lou Perrotta Sandi Bali

Following the awards, we raffled off over $500 of prizes to those in attendance.

If we don’t see you at the course in the coming weeks.  Enjoy the “Off Season” and we will see you in the spring.